Going Long – Healthy Lifestyle

29 01 2010

While healthy eating may or may not make you faster, it will certainly make you faster longer – as in longer life. So today I’m going to share some ideas I’ve come up with over the years to improve my diet.

To understand where I’m coming from you have to know as a younger man, I was a hamburger eating machine. I’m not fond of vegetables and some would say I’m a picky eater, but I would just say, I have (or had) a limited diet. I feel like the things I’m sharing can easily be implemented into anyone’s life. I would love to hear any of your strategies!

More and more research suggests the advantages of frequent eating as opposed to three big meals.1 I started bringing healthy snacks to work that I think has increased the quality of my diet. When I get hungry between breakfast and lunch, I go snooping around my shelf where my goodies are kept. If all you have on-hand is healthy stuff; that’s all you’ll eat. It seems I start my snacking almost as soon as I get to work and I continue on and off until I swim. Then I’m REALLY hungry for lunch. After lunch, I have another snack or two before I head out the door for more training.

snacks i keep at work
Almonds – do a Google search as to their nutritional benefit if you don’t already know. They are great because you can grab a small handful whenever you want and have good fat to fuel your long workouts.

Jelly Belly brand Fruit Snacks – these are made supposedly with real fruit juices but are basically just sugar. Each little bag is 80 calories and seems to satisfy my need for something sweet during the day. I also keep a few packets in my workout bag to have right after a swim, bike, or run.

Quaker Oats Instant Oatmeal – this takes a little preparation but is sweet and healthy.

Snapple – If you’ve not tried Snapple, please do yourself a favor and buy a six pack of Peach flavor. If you’re chicken, you can sometimes find a vending machine where you can purchase one bottle. Be sure to get the peach flavor. As for the nutritional benefit – Snapple is made primarily from green and black tea. Now you have to know, there is no tea flavor to this product at all. It tastes like a wonderful sweet drink and goes down much better than Coke. The bottles have screw-on caps which allow you to take a sip to wash down your almonds and then put it back in the refrigerator for later consumption.

V8 Vegetable Drink – I wasn’t crazy about the taste of this at first, but I would chug one everyday before my lunch. I’ve actually gotten to the point where I kind of like it. It seems like an easy way to get vegetables in the diet.

snacks at home

Peanut Butter and Jelly wraps – I found this great wrap at our grocery store that has whole grains and 12 grams of fiber. The brand is “LaToritilla Factory” and at some stores they are located next to the Power Bars, not with the other wraps.

Wrap Peanut
Butter
Jelly Total
Calories 80 190 100 370 Kcal
Fat 3 16 0 19 grams
Fiber 12 2 0 14 grams
Protein 8 7 0 15 grams
Carb 18 6 26 50 grams

14 Grams of Fiber!
Almost a perfect (for a recovery meal) 4:1 ratio between protein and carbs.

Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats – Whole grains and 6 grams of fiber make this a healthy little snack. I grab a handful when I need something sweet.

What are your favorite healthy snacks?

Eating frequency
Weight loss
http://www.nature.com/ijo/journal/v26/n11/abs/0802143a.html

Lower cholesterol
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0887/is_7_18/ai_76283985/

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 02 2010
Luke

Lol?? is this some kind of level. None of these are healthy food choices….

1 02 2010
geoffreydean

None of these are healthy snacks for an endurance athlete? I thought fiber, protein and sugar are things that would help fuel an active life style.

2 02 2010
Luke

No – they aren’t healthy snacks for an endurance athlete. You may as well go get a burger and coke – they will also “fuel an active lifestyle”

Leave a Reply

